Monday, October 4, 2010

Most Big Ten Players Fall at All American Pre-Qualifying

The Pre-Qualifying draws weren’t lucky ones for most Big Ten players, as the majority bowed out.
The Ohio State Buckeyes brought two women into the Pre-Qualifying of the Riviera/ITA All American Championships and three men into that event at the D’Novo/ITA All American, but only two made it all the way through. Nelson Vick, who received a 9-16 alphabetical seeding, defeated Jonathan Brooklyn of Hawaii-Manoa, 6-1,6-3; Niall Angus of Texas A& M, 3-6,6-2,6-4; and made the Qualifying with a 6-2,6-2, win over David Costa of SMU. Buckeye Wyatt Lippert received a bye in the first round and then lost to Tobias Obenas of Washington, 6-1,6-1.  Peter Kobelt earned a spot in the Qualifying after beating Colin Hoover of Texas A&M.  On the Lady Buckeyes side, Kelsey Haviland (left) lost her first round match to Chieh Yu Hsu of UPenn, while Pamela Escobedo lost  upset Gabriela Mejia of Miami (3) before falling to  Pamela Montez of UCLA, 7-5,6-4.

Purdue also sent only one to the Qualifying, despite starting with four players. Aaron Dujovne fell in a tight one in the first round (6-4,4-6,7-6(5))  to Benjamin Chomette, Old Dominion. Mark Kovacs defeated Arsenio Culver of Norfolk State and Alberto Bautista of Texas A&M before losing to Vitor Manzini of  Texas Tech, 6-1,6-7(7),7-5.  There was one win for Szymon Tatarczyk before he fell to second-seeded Juan Spir of Georgia TechKrisztian Krocksko made it all the way through, qualifying with a 6-4,3-6,7-5 win over third-seeded Vasko Mladenov of Texas.

Marc Bruch was the only Iowa Hawkeye to win a match in the Pre-Qualifying at the D’Novo/ITA All American Chapionships. He defeated Sven Poslusny of Utah State before he lost to Duke’s Chris Mengel.  Teammates Nikita Zotov, Will Vasos and Austen Kauss all lost their first round matches.
Indiana only sent two players to the Pre-Qualifying and neither made it to the end. Isade Juneau defeated Alex Durham of Mississippi and Julien Bley of Baylor (5-8) before he lost to Ohio State’s Kobelt.  The second Hoosier, Josh MacTaggart, received a bye in the first round and then lost to Eric West of Oklahoma State, 6-4,7-5

The men began the Qualifying rounds today, while the women start tomorrow.  Main draw play begins on Thursday the seventh for all.  Still left to play from the Big Ten are:

Riviera/ITA Women
Main Draw Singles
Denise Muresan, Michigan
Maria Mosolova, Northwestern
Qualifying Singles
Sonja Molnar, Iowa
Whitney Taney, Michigan
Petra Januskova, Penn State
Main Draw Doubles
Whitney Taney & Rika Tatsuno, Michigan
Qualifying Doubles
Chelcie Abajain & Breanne Smutko, Illinois
Kelsey Haviland & Cami Hubbs, Ohio State

D’Novo/ITA Men
Main Draw Singles
Dennis Nevolo, Illinois
Jason Jung, Michigan
Chase Buchanan, Ohio State
Marek Michalicka, Wisconsin
Qualifying Singles
Santiago Gruter, Indiana
Jeremy Langer, Indiana
Evan King, Michigan
Tobias Wernet, Minnesota
Calin Paar, Nebraska
Peter Kobelt, Ohio State
Balazs Novak, Ohio State
Blaz Rola, Ohio State
Devin McCarthy, Ohio State
Steven Williams, Ohio State
Shuhei Uzawa, Ohio State
Eddie Bouchier, Penn State
Krisztian Krocksko, Purdue
Main Draw Doubles
Jeremy Langer & Santiago Grutor, Indiana
Jason Jung & Evan King, Michigan
Chase Buchanan & Blaz Rola, Ohio State
Qualifying Doubles
Josh MacTaggart & Isade Juneu, Indiana
Balazs Novak & Devin McCarthy, Ohio State

Full results are available on the ITA Tennis website.

Note: This list is subject to change.  Withdrawals will cause players to move from Qualifying to Main Draw.
Bookmark and Share


Post a Comment