Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Most Big Ten players advance on Day 1 of NCAA Individuals

Big Ten teams may have fallen early in the NCAA team championships, but the players still have another chance to bring home a trophy as the individual events began today.

Nine players from the Big Ten --- six men and three women from five schools -- were chosen to compete in the singles draws.  Michigan was the only one to have representatives in the men's and the women's, but that changed today. as Jason Jung fell to 9-16 seeded Michael Shabaz of Virginia, 6-3,6-2, and Denise Muresan lost to North Carolina's Katrina Tsang

The only other Big Ten player who didn't make it through round one was  Wisconsin's Mortiz Baumann, falling in a tight three-setter to fourth-seeded Guillermo Gomez of Georgia Tech.

Men-Justin Kronauge/Ohio State defeated Vahid Mirzadeh/Florida State, 0-6,6-1,7-5
Guillermo Gomez/Georgia Tech (4) defeated Mortiz Baumann/Wisconsin, 7-5,4-6,6-4
Dennis Nevolo/Illinois defeated Jose Hernandez/North Carolina, 7-6(6),0-6,6-4
Market Michalicka/Wisconsin defeated Raony Carvalho/Texas Tech, 6-2,6-3
Michael Shabaz/Virginia (9-16) defeated Jason Jung/Michigan, 6-3,6-2
Chase Buchanan/Ohio State (7) defeated Jean-Yves Aubone/Florida State, 6-4,6-2

Women-Samantha Murray/Northwestern defeated Marina Cossou/California, 4-6,6-2,6-4
Denise Muresan/Michigan defeated Katrina Tsang/North Carolina, 6-0,7-6
Maria Mosolova/Northwestern (9-16) defeated Holly Cao/Harvard, 6-3,1-6,6-2
Bookmark and Share


Post a Comment