Thursday, May 12, 2011

NCAAs 2011: Big Ten Teams Earn NCAA Bids

The 2011 NCAA Championships begin regionally on May 13th, followed by the round of 16 and individual events at Stanford University May 19-30. The Big Ten will be well represented at the tournament, especially on the men’s side where five teams will be playing. Here’s the weekend schedule for Big Ten Tennis…

Michigan-The Wolverine women are entering the NCAA Championships as the tournament’s No. 10 seed. They will host Akron in the first round and, with a win, then will face either Nebraska (who join the Big Ten next season) or Tulsa at 1:00 pm on Saturday.

Northwestern-The No. 16 Wildcats welcome IPFW on Friday for a first round match. The winner of that one plays Fresno State or Notre Dame on Saturday at noon.

Illinois-The Fighting Illini take on Drake on their home turf on Friday at 3:00 pm. Illinois, the last team to sweep the NCAA Championships (2003) is making their 16th tournament appearance. The winner of that match takes on either No. 16 North Carolina or Eastern Kentucky at 2:00 pm on Saturday.

Indiana-College Station, Texas, will be the location for the Hoosier men this weekend as they get started Friday at 11:00 am against LSU. The winner of that match will play either No. 9 Texas A&M or Alcorn State at 3:00 pm on Saturday.

Michigan-The Wolverine men have been in more NCAA Championships than any other team in the conference. They will be playing No. 20 at Duke in Durham, North Carolina. Their first match is scheduled for 10:00 am Friday. If they win, they will be playing the winner of No. 11 Duke-George Washington on Saturday at 3:00 pm.
Minnesota-It’s a third straight NCAA appearance for the Gophers, who are heading to Berkeley, California. They will face Fresno State in the first round for an 11:00 am match on Friday. If they win that one they will face No. 14 California or Marist at 3:00 pm on Saturday.

Ohio State
-The Buckeyes are entering the NCAAs as the No. 4 seed on the men’s side. They are playing host with a match against Ball State at 1:00 pm on Friday. Presuming they advance, Ohio State faces either Notre Dame or East Tennessee State Saturday at 1:00 pm.

Note: All times are local time in the specified location.
Bookmark and Share


Post a Comment