Friday, May 14, 2010

2010 Big Ten Men's Tennis Conference Championships final day

May 3, 2010
While I was at the Big Ten Women's Tennis Conference Championships, there was a familiar final taking place at the men's event at the University of Indiana.  It was one I had seen a number of times before.

Ohio State-Illinois finals have become synonymous with Big Ten Championships.  The two teams have met in the last seven.  This year was no different and the outcome was the same as the previous five with the Buckeyes taking home the trophy.

One thing that was different this year was the weather confusion.  The match was started outside under grey skies with the hope that it would clear, then moved inside when it did not.  Ohio State took large early leads in doubles, but the end results had it closer before they pulled out the doubles point.  With the exception of No. 3 singles, where Illini  Abe Souza (pictured below) won the first set and picked up the win with a retirement of Dino Marcan after code violations, it was three straight set wins to the Coach Ty Tucker's 122nd straight Big Ten match win.  Balazs Novak (pictured right) was the clincher, a job he also completed last year.

Full results from the championship at the University of Indiana, whose staff managed the tournament through weather problems, are available here.   I would also like to give a shout out to A Summerhouse Inn in Bloomington, for putting me up during the event.

Both teams now await tomorrow's NCAA Selection Show on ESPN2 at 4:00 CST to see where and who they will be playing at this year's event.  Story to follow.

#1 Ohio State
4, #2 Illinois 1Chase Buchanan (OSU) defeated Dennis Nevolo (ILL), 6-4,6-0
Justin Kronauge (OSU) vs. Marek Czerwinski (ILL), 3-6,3-1 Did Not Finish
Abe Souza (ILL) defeated Dino Marcan (OSU), 6-3,3-1 Did Not Finish
Balazs Novak (OSU) defeated Johnny Hamui (ILL), 6-1,6-2
Matt Allare (OSU) vs. Stephen Hoh (ILL), 4-6,2-3 Did Not Finish
Shuhei Uzawa (OSU) defeated Connor Roth (ILL), 6-0,6-0
Chase Buchanan/Dino Marcan (OSU) defeated Marek Czerwinski/Abe Souza (ILL), 8-5
Matt Allare/Shuhei Uzawa (OSU) defeated Johnny Hamui/Dennis Nevolo (ILL), 9-7
Justin Kronauge/Balazs Novak (OSU) defeated Connor Roth/Stephen Hoh (ILL), 8-6
Bookmark and Share


Post a Comment